Even though it may be said that the number of our infections is still, relatively, low, if we act now purposefully, we have a chance of preventing an escalation of our numbers.

Five (5) key objectives – limit and stop the importation of the virus; contain its spread; provide adequate care for the sick; limit the impact of the virus on social and economic life; and inspire the expansion of our domestic capability and deepen our self-reliance. 

In doing this, we cannot afford to copy blindly, and do all the things some other well-developed countries are doing.


The President of the Republic, Nana addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo imposes a two-week lockdown from 1AM, Monday, 30th March 2020 and it is in pursuant to the powers granted the him under the Imposition of Restrictions Act, 2020 (Act 1012).

In an address of the nation on updates to the country's enhanced response to the coronavirus pandemic, the President said, "even though it may be said that the number of our infections is still, relatively, low, if we act now purposefully, we have a chance of preventing an escalation of our numbers", therefore the restriction movement in Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi forms part of measures to control the spread of the coronavirus.

"This will give the us the opportunity to try to halt the spread of the virus, and scale-up effectively contact tracing of persons who have come into contact with infected persons, test them for the virus, and, if necessary, quarantine and isolate them for treatment, should they prove to have the virus", the president said.

The affected areas have been identified as ‘hotspots’ of infections.

In Greater Accra, the following areas will be affected:

  1. Accra Metropolis;

  2. Tema Metropolis;

  3. Tema West Municipality;

  4. Ledzokuku Municipality;

  5. Krowor Municipality;

  6. Adentan Municipality;

  7. Ashiaman Municipality;

  8. La-Nkwantanang-Madina Municipality;

  9. La-Dade-Kotopon Municipality;

  10. Okaikwei North Municipality;

  11. Ablekuma North Municipality;

  12. Ablekuma West Municipality;

  13. Ablekuma Central Municipality;

  14. Ayawaso East Municipality;

  15. Ayawaso North Municipality;

  16. Ayawaso West Municipality;

  17. Ayawaso Central Municipality

  18. Ga West Municipality;

  19. Ga North Municipality;

  20. Ga Central Municipality;

  21. Ga South Municipality;

  22. Ga East Municipality;

  23. Korle-Klottey Municipality;

  24. Weija/Gbawe Municipality;  

  25. Kpone Katamanso Municipality; and

  26. Awutu Senya East Municipality.

In the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, the following areas are affected:

  1. Kumasi Metropolis;

  2. Asokwa Municipality;

  3. Suame Municipality;

  4. Old Tafo Municipality;

  5. Oforikrom Municipality;

  6. Asokore Mampong Municipality;

  7. Kwadaso Municipality;

  8. Atwima Nwabiagya Municipality;

  9. Kwabre East Municipality;

  10. Ejisu Municipality;

  11. Afigya-Kwabre South District;

  12. Bosomtwi District;

  13. Atwima Kwanwoma District; and

  14. Atwima Nwabiagya North District. 

Speaking in a 4th nationwide broadcast on Friday, 27th March, 2020, the President said, individuals and institutions providing the following services shall be exempted from the restrictions:

  • Members of the Executive, Legislature and the Judiciary;

  • production, distribution and marketing of food, beverages, pharmaceuticals, medicine, paper and plastic packages;

  • environmental and sanitation activities;

  • staff of VALCO;

  • road and railway construction workers;

  • mining workers;

  • fisherfolk;

  • members of the security agencies assigned lawful duties;

  • staff of electricity, water, telecommunications, e-commerce and digital service providers; and

  • staff of fuel stations.

Watch the full broadcast in the video below

Credit to Source: Wentitrel News


No. 143 South Yuquan Rd, Chashan Street, Ouhai District, Wenzhou, Zhejiang Province



Phone: 0086-150-5753-1871

Certificate by Ghana Embassy: 

GCCWZ cert.jpg
Get Monthly Updates
Useful links: